Building Stories Logo
Member Sign In

Username

Password
Français

Forgot your password? | Become a member
Tour Title Doors Open London 2013
Tour Points
Tour Points
Point Title
Sort ascending by Point TitleSort descending by Point Title
Description
Features
Airforce 427 Wing.jpg Air Force Association of Canada, 427 Wing Open: Sat & Sun 11-4pm The local 427 (London) Wing of the Air Force Association of Canada is located on the grounds of the London International Airport. Originally built as an Airman’s Canteen, a place where wartime personnel could be relaxed and refreshed, it is believed to be the last representative and still useable building of its kind in Southwestern Ontario. There are nearly 100 model aircraft on permanent display, ranging from a 1909 Silver Dart to the present. Also included are a 1/3 scale Sopwith Camel and a 1/14 scale Avro Lancaster. There are a multitude of photographs of people, planes and events related to aviation. Guided tours through the building will give historical information to our visitors of the historical records of both the military and civilian aviation experience of our City of London and the surrounding area. On the grounds of the building is the “Spooner Memorial Garden” which is a display of the city of London and surrounding communities which were sites for the training of air force personnel. LAC Spooner was awarded the George Cross posthumously for attempting to save the lives of four comrades when a training aircraft crashed into Lake Erie. His story is told in stone outside the front door and there are memorial markers planted alongside the walkway into the building. Pre-war, wartime and post-war notable events as reported in the media will be displayed through photographic and other visual. Fully Accessible; National Historic Site; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.427wing.com Click here to show map location
Marconi Club.JPG Marconi Club of London Open: Sun 12 pm – 8 pm The Marconi Club have been promoting Italian Culture within the Canadian mosaic for more than 100 years. The Marconi was established in 1900 in honor of Guglielmo Marconi. By 1964, the Marconi was so popular, expansion was inevitable. With the purchase of land at the present location, the new Marconi was on its way to becoming a community-based icon. The Marconi Club continues to be a place for first, second and third generation Italian-Canadians to share their heritage while living in their new chosen home: Canada. Come and experience Italian-Canadian culture! There will be Italian cultural displays, musical performances, folk-dance performances, traditional costumes, authentic cuisine and more! Al-Asala Dabke will be performing from 4 pm – 5 pm They are one of the strongest multi-cultural male dance groups. They provide an authentic cultural experience to the Arab Canadian community, whether it is a high-energy ‘zaffe’ or a stunning ‘dabke’ performance. Al-Asala also has a distinctive approach, fusing traditional dabke with Western influences into what is dubbed as the “dabke remix.” Al-Asala has performed at a number of events across Ontario, including the hit theatrical play Love 48. The Light of East Ensemble will perform from 6 pm – 7 pm .Visitors will experience music from the Near and Middle East, including traditional, folk, classical Arabic, Greek Rembetika, and modern urban music of the 20th century from regions such as Armenia, Greece, Turkey, and other Middle Eastern countries such as Egypt, Lebanon, Iraq, Israel and Syria. They will be accompanied by a belly dancer dancing to Mediterranean music. Do not miss this opportunity! Fully Accessible; Washrooms   Click here to show map location
Aeolian Hall.jpg Aeolian Hall Open: Sat & Sun 12 pm – 4 pm The renowned architect George F. Durand designed the building. It is a combination of High Victorian and Italianate design, a masterpiece of tall tracery windows and biochromatic brickwork. Construction took place between September 1883 and June 1884. The building has served a number of intriguing purposes over the decades including library, school of telegraphy, radio store, gallery and more. Learn to play violin, viola or cello from our El Sistema Aeolian students. View an art exhibition. Take a tour of historic Aeolian Hall and The Aeolian School of Music. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; National Historic Site; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking http://www.aeolianhall.ca Click here to show map location
ARTS Project 2011.jpg The ARTS Project Open: Sat & Sun 10 am– 4 pm The ARTS Project, a non-profit organization, has been operating at 203 Dundas for over 10 years providing opportunities for local performing and visual artists. The building was first constructed for use as Hawthorn's Hotel in the mid-1800s. It also served as a theatre, billiard hall, and many retail stores, most notably Rowland Hill Shoe Store from 1939-1992. It now houses three galleries, a black box theatre, 12 artist studios and resident theatre company - Passionfool. On Saturday, we welcome the public to witness an array of London talent that will produce Theatre, Visual Art and Music from scratch based on a theme in 24 hours. We will also offer behind-the-scenes studio tours and open house. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Washrooms http://www.artsproject.ca Click here to show map location
Attic Books.JPG Attic Books Open: Sat 9am – 6 pm & Sun-10am-6pm Attic Books is a late Victorian Red Brick commercial building in the heart of Downtown London that has hosted merchants and craftsmen for over a century. Originally, the building was a single floor and only about 20’ long. It was not expanded until the 1880s, when the second and third floor were added. The second floor was attached to 242 Dundas, creating a large space that accommodated Somerset Hall. Doorways on the main floor also allowed access to the adjacent building. During a major renovation in 1919, Arts and Crafts elements were added to the façade. The back end of the store was extended and the mezzanine was added to the third floor. This renovation was designed and executed by famous London architect, J. M. Moore. Before 1919, the building matched the three structures that surround it, two to the west and one to the east. A three-story Red Brick Commercial building, with an Arts & Crafts facade and interior details, Attic Books features hardwood floors and dramatic tin ceilings. Walls of books set off the historic nature of this charming building, where Londoners have shopped for over 100 years. Owned by Marvin Post since 1996, Attic Books was previously occupied by businesses such as Reid Brothers & Co., the Thomas Furniture Co., and Robert Holmes Books & Stationary. Guided Tours: 10 am – 4 pm. Come and see one of London's best kept literary and cultural treasures! We will provide guided tours, including an up-close look at antiquarian books not usually available to the public. Experience history as our tour guides take you through this beautiful local landmark, explaining the history of its growth and renovations throughout the years. Meet our mysterious ghost in the basement, "Roland". Check out exhibit of historical items. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.atticbooks.ca Click here to show map location
Banting House.JPG Banting House National Historic Site of Canada Open: Sat & Sun 10am– 4 pm This Queen Anne style home (1900) has served as a private residence/medical practice, boarding house, commercial office and museum. Acquired by the Canadian Diabetes Association in 1981, the office addition was completed in 1989. Designated a national historic site of Canada (1997), the rooms Banting occupied – bedroom, office, dispensary – reflect occupancy, including uncovered wallpaper and border paper. The Flame of Hope, Banting statue and stylized globe representing Canada’s gift of insulin to the world offers an expanded ceremonial and serene garden where the public can relax and reflect. Banting House National Historic Site of Canada is recognized as the site of the defining moment in the discovery of insulin and commemorates the most important medical discovery of the 20th century. Visitors are introduced to Major Sir Frederick Banting through a self-guided tour enhanced with commentary from experienced guides. Highlights include his art, completed under the toutelage of AY Jackson and the bedroom where he conceived his idea that led to the discovery of insulin Join us and experience the life and career of one of our most celebrated international heroes and the man voted Canada’s fourth greatest Canadian. National Historic Site; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.diabetes.ca/about-us/who/banting-house Click here to show map location
Brick Street Cemetery.jpg Brick Street Cemetery Open: Sat & Sun 10am – 4 pm This Ontario Heritage Site served the earliest pioneer families of Westminster Township and is one of the oldest cemeteries in the area. Begun in 1813, its oldest remaining stones date back to 1819. At least a dozen participants of the War of 1812 are buried here, including Phoebe McNames, the heroine of the Battle of Hungerford (Reservoir) Hill in 1813. Other familiar names are Griffith, Norton, Teeple, Dale and Topping. Brick Street Cemetery has recently undergone considerable improvements as historic stones have been repaired and straightened. New engraved "info-bricks" have been installed to highlight the significance of certain individuals buried here. Visitors may enjoy a pleasant stroll at their leisure or take advantage of the Friends of Brick Street Cemetery who will be on hand to answer any questions. A scavenger hunt for children will help young historians discover the early history of our area. A new heritage display will highlight the cemetery and its connection with the War of 1812, historic Brick Street Church, School and brickyards   Click here to show map location
Byron Masonic Hall.jpg Byron Masonic Hall Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 4 pm Built on the former site of the Byron Village Hall, this vernacular structure was constructed as a multi-use building in 1955. The ground floor has been the home to a bowling alley, a dry cleaner, and other businesses. But the upper floor has always been used by Freemasons for their meetings. Explore the interior of this meeting call and view the 130-year-old furnishings matched with recently renovated spaces. Come and explore the private spaces of the world's oldest fraternity. Bring along Grandpa's old ring, your Dad's Freemasonry mementos or those old photos you found in the attic with a Masonic connection. We'll help you understand what they represent. Or just come see our photos and formal regalia that will be available for viewing. Take self-guided tours of the private meeting hall and explore the 130 year old Arts-and-Crafts furnishings. Or have one of our volunteers guide and answer questions for you. Guided Tours; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms   Click here to show map location
Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.JPG Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 5 pm The J. Allyn Taylor Building is an example of Renaissance Revival and was built in 1928. It was originally a Bank of Toronto but the inside took on a whole new look when it was transformed to a multi-purpose office in 2003. The only recognizable 'banking' features remaining are three vaults - two in the exhibit hall and one on the landing between the first and second floors. The building's marble floor and trim have been repaired with matching stone from a Tennessee quarry and the coved ceiling and elaborate moulding in the exhibit hall are all part of the original architectural design. Join The Arthritis Society South West Region to see how the organization has evolved over 65 years. As we celebrate our 65th anniversary, visitors will get a firsthand experience of how and why the society began and where and how we have come to place we are at today. Come and see how The Arthritis Society helps the millions of Canadians living with arthritis. If you want to feel proud to be a Canadian, come stand amidst the laureate portrait gallery and read the remarkable stories of the 98 men and women whose dedication and brilliance have improved the health and well-being of people everywhere or see their stories come alive in our interactive media theatre. Fully Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.cdnmedhall.org Click here to show map location
Chisholm Building_Compressed.jpg Chisholm Building Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 4 pm The A. Chisholm Building was erected in approximately 1862 – 1863, by a prominent business man in the Town of London, Andrew Chisholm. The building housed various mercantile businesses from the 1860 – 1970’s. It housed various smaller businesses until the 1990’s when it became vacate. It was purchased by Hassan Law Offices in 2009 and has been renovated and restored for the past 3 years, to its present use as combined retail and office space. The building features an historic, restored facade in the Italianate style, with original “London brick”. Inside many of the original features have been retained where possible, including some original hardwood floor and “London brick” walls and stunning skylights. Visitors to the A. Chisholm Building will be invited to travel through time. A tour will include photographic and video images of the various uses of the building, the restoration process and various artifacts discovered during the restoration process. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms   Click here to show map location
Covent Garden Market_Compressed.jpg Covent Garden Market Open: Sat 10 am – 6 pm & Sun 10-4pm Covent Garden Market is a great venue right here in the heart of London. The market started in 1845 has an extensive history behind it .We will be providing our beautiful and spacious upstairs Mezzanine and Labatt Lounge of the Covent Garden Market, which overlooks our beautiful downtown. The Covent Garden Market provides a historic, family and community friendly environment full of cuisine from all around the world. On Sat from 10am-12pm, London Fanshawe Symphonic Chorus will perform future and past concert repertoire during Doors Open London. On Sat from 2 pm – 3 pm, Sweet Adelines London Chorus will perform. Visitors will enjoy a professional and polished entertainment package in Barbershop Style by their cappella female chorus. Chorus quartets will perform to demonstrate the talent of four vocal instruments. London Chorus will teach some fun songs that include audience participation and show a CD of award winning International quartets. Wrap up will be a question and answer session. On Sat from 4– 5 pm, The Light of East Ensemble will perform. Visitors will experience music from the Near and Middle East, including traditional, folk, classical Arabic, Greek Rembetika, and modern urban music of the 20th century from regions such as Armenia, Greece, Turkey, and other Middle Eastern countries such as Egypt, Lebanon, Iraq, Israel and Syria. On Sat & Sun from 10-4pm, Original Kids Theatre Company will organize tours. Tours will show you the inside functioning of one of Canada's largest children's theatre companies. Rehearsals will be taking place throughout the weekend and directors will have their casts prepared to welcome guests and present a peek at their show. We may also meet costume teams preparing for shows and see the development of sets as we prepare for the opening of the season. On Sat from 12-2pm Al-Asala Dabke Group will perform. They were formed in 2007 and is one of the strongest multi-cultural male dance groups. They provide an authentic cultural experience to the Arab Canadian community, whether it is a high-energy 'zaffe' or a stunning 'dabke' performance. Al-Asala also has a distinctive approach, fusing traditional dabke with Western influences into what is dubbed as the "dabke remix." Al-Asala has performed at a number of events across Ontario, including the hit theatrical play Love 48. Fully Accessible; National Historic Site; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.coventmarket.com Click here to show map location
Echidna--updated image.jpg The Burridge Building (formerly Wallace Building) Open: Sat & Sun 10 am –4 pm This building located at the corner of Talbot and King Street was established as a commercial block for John Burridge in 1881 and was designed by London-based architect William A. Joanes. It is a stellar example of High Victorian style. For over 125 years, the corner of King and Talbot has been an integral part of downtown life. With exciting new growth, renovation of legacy buildings, and key entertainment and business venues, it’s poised to remain at the heart of London for another 125 years. It is now home to commercial enterprises such as Digital Echidna and Lashbrooks who are committed to downtown revitalization, and their office spaces features a harmonious blend of old-world charm and modern amenities. Digital Echidna team members will be on hand to guide you through their facilities, share information about our upcoming expansion, and answer any questions you may have. Come explore the Burridge Block and feel the heartbeat of downtown London. Lashbrook team members will be on hand to guide you through their facilities. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Site has its own Parking http://www.echidna.ca Click here to show map location
Downtown Yoga Holistic Centre.jpg Downtown Yoga Holistic Centre Open: Sat 10 am – 4 pm The Downtown Yoga Holistic Centre holds educational seminars and workshops on healthy living throughout the year. This Red Brick commercial building was built in the period between 1900-1945. Yoga classes take place on a daily basis and meditation classes on weekly basis. Special events, dance classes and various workshops occur weekly. The Downtown Yoga Holistic Centre will host a workshop on the history of yoga. Come and join the free drop-in Yoga classes throughout the day. And, being an eco-friendly store as well, they will provide helpful tips on recycling and eco-friendly products for everyday living. Fully Accessible; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.downtownlondonyoga.ca Click here to show map location
Eldon House.jpg Eldon House Open: Sat & Sun 12 pm – 5 pm Virtually unchanged since the last century, Eldon House is London's oldest residence and contains family heirlooms, furnishings and priceless treasures of the Harris family as well as a beautiful 19th-century style garden. Built in 1834 for John and Amelia Harris, this historic home remained in the family until 1960 when it was donated to the City of London. Although surrounded by the city today, the house and its gardens are a place of beauty and tranquility. On Sat & Sun from 2 pm – 3 pm, London Celebrate Canada has organized a historical talk series and discussions on the War of 1812. Saturday’s historical talk will focus on the Battle of Lake Erie. On Sat from12 – 4 pm, Theatre Nemesis will be providing several ODD SOULS: costumed interpreters representing colourful characters from London's Past. Meet London's most eccentric mayor Francis Evans Cornish and Amanda Wetherbee, who claimed to be a displaced princess of the British Royal Family! Brought to you by the writer of London's phenomenally successful LOST SOUL STROLL, you will enjoy interacting with these wild and boisterous blasts from the past. Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Washrooms http://www.eldonhouse.ca Click here to show map location
Fanshawe%20Pioneer%20Village,%20Peel%20House.jpg Fanshawe Pioneer Village Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 4 pm Fanshawe Pioneer Village tells the story of rural life in Middlesex County from 1820 - 1920. Original houses, churches, a woodworking shop, blacksmith shop, Masonic Hall and a tavern complete the rural landscape. Denfield General Store and Post Office, Harmer Sawmill and the London Brewery present an urban community at the turn of the 20th century. The past comes alive in our heritage Village through demonstrations of 19th century trades, farming, domestic chores and social pastimes by costumed interpreters. Hands-on activities and interactive fun for kids of all ages! The Denfield General Store operates as a full gift shop offering a unique variety of local hand-crafted gifts, heritage reproductions and souvenirs. Drop by the Pioneer Village Cafe for lunch, drinks and snacks. NEW for 2013 is the Spriet Family Visitor Centre. The collaborative exhibit “London: A Newcomer's Story" will be featured in the Trillium Community Gallery (Sunday Only). Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.fanshawepioneervillage.ca Click here to show map location
1Hussars museum 1.JPG First Hussars Museum Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 4 pm The 1st Hussars Museum is located in one of the last remaining original buildings at the Forks of the Thames. This Ontario Cottage style building was built in 1880-1881. The Museum illustrates the history of the Regiment during the South African War, the Great War, World War II and the War in Afghanistan. Among the displays is one on the unit's Peacekeeping missions. Come and see the 1st Hussars Museum! There will be guided tours prepared by our knowledgeable guides who will explain exhibits and entertain visitors with historical stories. If you are interested in Canadian military history, do not miss this opportunity of looking a group of people dressed in various Canadian military uniforms of the past. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms   Click here to show map location
Forest City Gallery_Compressed.jpg Forest City Gallery Open: Sat & Sun 11am – 5 pm Forest City Gallery is London, Ontario's only artist-run-centre. FCG is also celebrating its 40th Anniversary this year! As an artist-run centre, founded on artistic autonomy, FCG is committed to excellence in programming, exhibitions and events that reflect and address recent developments in cultural production. FCG’s mandate is to serve as a forum for local, regional, national and international artists through the presentation of relevant contemporary practices in visual/media arts, performance, literature and music. Forest City Gallery proudly presents our emerging-artists exhibition ‘Activation’ that will be on display. Director, Jenna Powell, will be present in-gallery for a tour of this exhibition. Do you enjoy knitting, crochet, macramé, tatting, braiding, finger or tablet weaving, sewing, quilting and embroidering? Come and get together with other textile enthusiasts over a cup of tea! Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.forestcitygallery.com Click here to show map location
Grand Theatre.JPG The Grand Theater Open: Sat 10 am – 12 pm The Grand Theatre is a nationally recognized cultural icon that produces some of the best professional live theatre in Canada, all in London’s turn-of-the-century, refurbished 839-seat theatre. This Red Brick Commercial building was built in 1901 thanks to Toronto entrepreneur Ambrose Small who built the theatre and operated it until his mysterious disappearance in 1919. Visitors will be able to tour the props and wardrobe shops at The Grand Theatre, as well as other areas backstage through guided tours. The McManus Studio Theatre will be open with a Photo Booth for people of all ages to try on costumes from past productions and to have their picture taken. Displays of props and costumes will be set up in all lobby spaces to celebrate 15 years of High School Projects as well as our past seasons. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; National Historic Site; Washrooms http://www.grandtheatre.com Click here to show map location
London Clay Art Centre.jpg London Clay Art Centre Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 4 pm This late Victorian building, part of a commercial block in the city’s Old East Village. It was built in the1890s and opened its doors in 1896. The building has been a dry goods store, bicycle shop, restaurant, pharmacy, jewellery shop, variety store, and a billiard hall. It was reborn in 2009 as the London Clay Art Centre, headquarters of London Potters Guild. It is the only guild-owned & operated facility in Canada. Its brick/slate façade on Dundas Street was restored in 2012 to what it had looked like in 1910. London Potters Guild have organized guided tours. Visitors will enjoy a guided tour of the facility, including the newly completed second floor. They will see wheel demonstrations, a clay activity for children, historic stained glass windows that were hidden until renovations, and other traces of the original 19th Century building. A special exhibition will be on display inside the store and in the front windows. Other artists may be performing or exhibiting in the centre. London Ontario Media Arts Association has organized workshops for visitors. Come and see various media displays and participate in hands on media workshops including film animation, video, audio and vibrotactile Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.londonpottersguild.org/ Click here to show map location
London Fire Station No. 4.jpg London Fire Station No. 4 Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 4 pm At the turn of the twentieth century, Fire Chief John A. Roe requested a new station to serve the north end of the city. In 1909, No. 4 Fire Station was built on the corner of Colborne and St. James streets. Architect Arthur E. Nutter designed the station in an abstract Italianate style, featuring a simplified Tuscan tower, broad eaves, and pilasters above the fire hall door. The station complements the residential streetscape. Station No. 4 will remain a viable part of the London Fire Department in the foreseeable future. Retired fire officers will be on hand to conduct guided tours. A public educator will provide fire safety information and provide fire safety colouring books and stickers to children who attend. The in-service crew of a fire captain and 3 firefighters will provide tours of Engine No. 4 when they are not responding to alarms. They will even slide down the fire pole to amuse children and grown-ups alike. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking http://www.fire.london.ca Click here to show map location
London Life Insurance Company.jpg London Life Insurance Company Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 4 pm Founded in 1874, London Life moved to this location in 1926, later adding another three buildings on the same block as the company grew. The original 1926 building was designed in a neoclassical modified Greek style by London architect O. Roy Moore. The historic fourth floor auditorium also reveals plaster ornamentation of intricate design and boasts a full proscenium stage. Heritage Resource Centre has organized a workshop and presentation on Building Stories program. This program is an online interactive inventory and mobile application that enables Canadians to take a direct role in identifying important community heritage assets. During Doors Open London, HRC will provide training sessions. Drop-in for introductory presentations scheduled for 11am and 2pm on both days. Participate in interactive sessions on use of the Building Stories website. HRC staff will be on-site to answer your questions pertaining to the Building Stories. Come to the London Life Auditorium to participate in heritage related activities. Exploration Zone will be set up and community based organizations will be profiled. Fully Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.londonlife.com Click here to show map location
London Muslim Mosque.JPG London Muslim Mosque Open: Sat & Sun11 am – 4 pm London Muslim Mosque is Ontario first mosque and the original building at 151 Oxford St. was purchased in 1955. Over the years as the Muslim community has grown, the building has been renovated to accommodate the growth producing a unique architectural design of old and new. The new facility includes ground floor accessibility, elevators, large prayer areas, beautiful foyer, and lower level hall and classrooms. Imported marble, chandelier and carpeting enhance the serene atmosphere of the mosque. The London Muslim Mosque welcomes you! Tour the recently expanded mosque. Have your name written in Arabic calligraphy, an art form based on the Arabic script with flowing arabesque and geometric design; or decorate your hands with an artistic henna tattoo; and learn how the headscarf (hijab) is wrapped in various styles. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking http://www.londonmosque.ca Click here to show map location
Museum London.jpg Museum London Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 5 pm This Art Moderne built in 1980 is located at the Fork of the Thames in downtown London. Museum London inspires human experience through art and historical exhibitions, public and educational programming, and special events. As Southwestern Ontario's leading establishment for the collection and presentation of visual art and material culture, Museum London's collection has more than 5,000 regional and Canadian artworks and 40,000 artifacts which reflect the history of the City of London. On Sat & Sun, take a peek behind the scenes. Experience a guided tour to the Museum's material culture and artifact vault where we store more than 45,000 artifacts which reflect the history of London. Tours take place on the hour from 11 am to 4 pm. On Sun from 12-4pm, in celebration of their exhibition “ZINES”, they are hosting a zine fair with London’s prominent artists. Used book sellers from downtown London also offer books on art and local history as well as a selection of historical zines. Museum London will open their archives to sell a wide range of exhibition publications. The afternoon includes drop-in activities such as button-making, book binding and zine creation. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.museumlondon.ca Click here to show map location
Museum of Ontario Archaeology.JPG Museum of Ontario Archaeology Open: Sat & Sun10 am – 4 pm The Museum of Ontario Archaeology is devoted to the study, display, and interpretation of the human occupation of Southwestern Ontario over the past 11,000 years. The Museum is located beside the Lawson Prehistoric Iroquoian Village, a site occupied by the Neutral Iroquoians in the 16th century A.D. Explore the gallery and special exhibits and visit the Lawson Village to discover what life was like in London’s earliest village. Learn archaeological techniques and have fun with games and crafts. On Sun from 12-1:30pm, Phat Studio has organized a Kubeda Dance workshop. This workshop will showcase and teach various dance styles from Africa. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.uwo.ca/museum Click here to show map location
Palace Theatre.jpg Palace Theatre (Procunier Hall) Open:Sat & Sun 2 pm – 6 pm The Palace Theatre, built in 1929 by London's prominent Hyatt family operated as a silent movie theatre. Upon opening March 9, 1929, the Palace Theatre was hailed as "one of the finest and most complete establishments of its kind not only in London and Western Ontario but in the whole of Canada". The Palace was the first run cinema hall until the arrival of the multiplex. Procunier Hall is part of this historic landmark. Sunday 11am-2pm—Watch musical performances by Golden Harps Steel Orchestra .Visitors will have a chance to try their hand at the steel pan! Their staff members will explain the history of the steel pan and how the steel pan is made. There will be costumes on display and videos of Madigras from Trinidad. Fully Accessible; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.palacetheatre.ca Click here to show map location
Royal Canadian Regiment.jpg Royal Canadian Regiment Museum Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 5 pm The Royal Canadian Regiment Museum tells the story of Canada’s senior Infantry Regiment. The museum is located in Wolseley Barracks, purpose-built military architecture in 1886 -1888 by the Dominion Government to house the Company «D» of the Infantry School Corps. Recently renovated, the museum welcomes visitors in the old archway entrance, upgraded to meet modern standards; an expanded permanent gallery and a costumer friendly gift shop are high profile attractions in the city of London, Ontario. Royal Canadian Regiment Museum collection is vast and includes a large variety of artefacts: regimental memorials, silverware, uniforms, medals, original art, weapons, military equipment, archives, musical instruments, etc. An important part of these items are on display, alongside interactive dioramas to illustrate the centennial history of The Royal Canadian Regiment. There will be Grand Opening Ceremony on Saturday (12:30pm – 2:30pm) and VIPs are expected to attend. The Secrets of Radar Museum will provide hands-on and educational activities at The Royal Canadian Regiment Museum. Enjoy some "radar" popcorn as you learn about Canadian radar history, from its earliest experimentation to recent advances, and most importantly, the real life stories and personal experiences of the men and women who have worked and continue to work in radar. Fully Accessible; National Historic Site; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms https://www.facebook.com/RCRMuseum Click here to show map location
Woodland Cemetery_Compressed.jpg Woodland Cemetery, Mausoleum & Crematorium Open: Sat & Sun1 pm – 4 pm Opened in 1838, 493 Springbank is the third home for Woodland Cemetery. Woodland is the largest and oldest major cemetery in London, and home to the first mausoleum, columbarium, indoor columbarium, and hillside vaults for the City of London. Woodland is also the original home of the first crematorium for the City of London, and the final resting place of Annie Pixley (stage actress of the 1800's). Come and see the interior of Annie Pixley's private mausoleum and learn about this extremely wealthy and talented lady. Visit our recently renovated public mausoleum and learn about many other influental people of London's past. Visit our crematorium and learn what happens during the process of cremation. Actors on site will be telling the stories of many of London's pioneers, the Victoria disaster and many other interesting events. Guided Tours; Partially Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.woodlandcemetery.on.ca Click here to show map location
TheCornerstone.JPG Youth Opportunities Unlimited (YOU) – The Cornerstone Open: Sat & Sun 10 am – 4 pm Built in 1879 by architect Thomas H. Tracy for John McKinnon, this three-storey late Italiante building has undergone many transformations. Youth Opportunities Unlimited purchased the building in 2009 renaming it The Cornerstone to honour the building’s past and future unlocking the potential of youth in providing education, housing, daily meals and a social enterprise café. There is an 8000 square foot roof-top outdoor community green space which provides visitors a unique and beautiful vista in the heart of our city. The building also features the use of alternative energies such as solar power, geothermal heating, cooling, and grey water collection. Youth Opportunities Unlimited (YOU) Guests visiting the Cornerstone will have the opportunity to have a guided tour of the facility with highlights of the recent renovations with a view to restore the interior of the café to original features, and preservation of some original flooring. As the building is now purposed for providing services for youth, the café which is a social enterprise will provide special food items and discounts for the visitors. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.you.on.ca Click here to show map location
German Canadian Club.jpg German Canadian Club Open: Sun 12 – 5 pm The German Canadian Club in London celebrates their 80th anniversary this year. The building was originally used as a Canadian Armed Forces shooting range. In 1951 it was bought and reconstructed by the German Canadian Club. Through the years the club has been added onto and transformed into an attractive reception hall and cultural centre and has been the heart of the German culture in the midst of London ever since. Beautifully situated in between the coves of the Thames river the area invites for walking, photography, painting or bird watching. The club is host to several events over the year. From Oktoberfest, Christkindl Market , our " Day of Song" , Easter egg hunt , Solstice celebration, there is something for everybody. Learn about German/Canadian history through our exhibition. At 2 pm we invite you to our Kaffeeklatsch. Come out with friends for some ballroom dancing with live music and enjoy some delicious German cake with a cup of coffee or tea- Deutsche Gemütlichkeit. Enjoy a guided tour and film presentation by Friends of the Cove. Guided tours by the Friends of the Cove are every hour from 11am-3pm. Fully Accessible; Guided Tours; National Historic Site; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms   Click here to show map location
Polish Hall.JPG Polish Canadian Club Open: Sun 2-8pm This Art Moderne building was built past 1945 and showcases Polish Canadian culture. Come and experience Polish culture with performances by the Cracovia Polish Dance Ensemble, outstanding Polish cuisine, numerous exhibits featuring Poland’s rich history, art and literature. Audience participation will be encouraged during the featured evening entertainment. Fully Accessible; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.polishhall.org Click here to show map location
Middlesex County Administration Office_Compressed.jpg Middlesex County Administration Office Open: Sun 10-4pm London's first permanent building and most recognizable landmark opened in 1829 as the District Courthouse and Gaol. It was modelled after Malahide Castle in Ireland the ancestral home in Ireland of Colonel Thomas Talbot. Middlesex County Administration Office: Guided tours will be given by staff members. Visitors will have a rare opportunity to visit the old courtroom and an original block of cells, including one for solitary confinement. Theatre Nemesis will be providing several ODD SOULS: costumed interpreters representing colourful characters from London's Past. Meet London's most eccentric mayor Francis Evans Cornish and Amanda Wetherbee, who claimed to be a displaced princess of the British Royal Family! Brought to you by the writer of London's phenomenally successful LOST SOUL STROLL, you will enjoy interacting with these wild and boisterous blasts from the past. Fully Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms http://www.middlesex.ca Click here to show map location
APK.JPG The APK Open: Sat 12 – 8 pm This historical building was constructed in the 1940s as a sweater factory. This historic building has painted rug brick. The lower and 2nd floor still have the original metal fame windows and the lower level also has the original doors. The APK is an arty, gastro-pub, specializing in local food, local art and music. We incubate bands; give them a place to perform and a step up to the next level. Fully Accessible; Self Guided Tours; Site has its own Parking; Washrooms   Click here to show map location

Find currently displayed points on the map

Group Heritage Resources Centre
Added By HRC Admin
Date Added July 11, 2013
Comments on {title}
No matching entries were found
Linked Content
Linked Content
Type
Title
Relation
User   HRC Admin The user submitted this content.