Building Stories Logo
Member Sign In



Forgot your password? | Become a member

Committee Members

Currently, the Heritage Burlington Advisory Committee has 14 voting members and 2 alternate members.   Members can also serve on subcommittees created for projects that support the work of Heritage Burlington.

Kate White (Chair) has been a Halton resident for more than 25 years and a member of Heritage Burlington since 2011. Kate’s professional experience includes sales, marketing and services leadership roles in both the financial services and information technology sectors. This experience allows Kate to provide guidance for Heritage Burlington to deliver its mandate to educate, inform, and engage our community on all things ‘heritage’. Kate and her family reside in the Alton Village Community in one of Burlington’s designated homes: the Thomas Alton Farmhouse.

          “We should be very proud to be part of a community that has an engaging history, diverse cultural traditions and natural heritage beauty.” 

Howard Bohan (Vice-Chair) is a former executive with the Greater Toronto Airports Authority, which operates Pearson International Airport in Toronto; holding the position of Vice President Operations/Aviation Services when he retired in 2014. Howard continues to consult to the airport/aviation industry, most recently with Aecon Inc for its recent successful concession agreement to rebuild and operate L.F. Wade International Airport in Bermuda.

Howard has been an active member of HB for the past several years.  As a longtime resident of Burlington, he has an abiding interest in Burlington continuing to be a great place to live.  Howard directs several key initiatives related to fair compensation and heritage property evaluation.

Jim O'Neill has been a Burlington resident and homeowner for 30 years.

Albert Faccenda is a builder and developer by trade. He has 37 years of experience in all aspects of real estate, including related provincial and municipal regulations involving land-use and building.

Michele Camacho has been the Marketing Director for a prominent architectural and construction management organization in Burlington for 30 years. She sees heritage properties as survivors and witnesses to many lives and events.

Sharon Portelli is a not-for-profit association Executive and has 20 years experience in both the financial and interior design sectors. Her primary focus has been in setting and enforcing professional standards within regulatory environments.

Torey Hunt (BHS appointee)   

Other Members are Pauline Laing, Sille Nygaard Mikkelsen, Dorothy Kosinska, Rick Wilson (BHS appointee), Blaine Adams, Maggie Steiss and Jeff Sutcliffe

Our Alternate members are Louise Sutherland and John Vice.

Jim Clemens (Chair Emeritus) is a former educator whose passion for history includes discovering Burlington’s heritage and culture. Jim is the 2016 recipient of the Burlington's Best Heritage Award and a member of the Burlington Historical Society and The Friends of Freeman Station. In his spare time, Jim enjoys attending plays and volunteering for Heritage Toronto.

Heritage Burlington committee members work closely with City of Burlington staff, primarily from the Clerks and Planning departments. The following city staff members provide support for the committee and liaise between the City and the committee.

Amber LaPointe is a Committee Clerk who works with Heritage Burlington.

Thomas Douglas is the staff liaison of Heritage Burlington. He is also a Planner focusing on Development Review and Heritage Planning. His professional interests include suburban intensification and sprawl repair, green infrastructure, heritage preservation and adaptive reuse, urban design, and planning for healthy and sustainable communities.